ATK Mohun Bagan Stars Return Home After Clinching ISL 2022-23 Title

Kolkata: ATK Mohun Bagan team returned to the city after defeating India. The Green Maroons beat Bengaluru FC in a penalty shootout in the ISL Final at the Fatorada Stadium in Goa.

Unbridled enthusiasm

After the ISL win, Mohun Bagan fans cheered as Vishal Kayeth, Pritam Kotal landed at the airport. Vishal Kayeth, the green maroon goalkeeper, has caught the eye by performing flawlessly throughout the season. In the final, the goalkeeper again won the victory. Vishal made an excellent save in the penalty shoot out. His performance throughout the match was eye-catching. Despite Vishal’s save, Pablo Perez couldn’t keep a shot on target. As a result, Mohun Bagan won the title by beating Bengaluru 4-3 in the tiebreaker.

new name

Incidentally, after winning the first title in ISL, Sanjiv Goenka announced to change the name of Mohna Bagan from the next season. It was renamed Mohun Bagan from the next season onwards ISLGreen maroon will not play. The new team name is ‘Mohun Bagan Super Giants’. Standing on the field after Mohun Bagan became ISL champions, Goenka said, ‘We had already thought about it. I waited for the announcement. We think there will be no more time to be a champion. This is the best time.’

Greetings from the Chief Minister

Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also congratulated the Kolkata club on her social media after the victory. He wrote, ‘Congratulations to Mohun Bagan for this impeccable performance in the ISL final. Admirable for your hard work, love for football and commitment, you will continue to improve. Best wishes for all future matches.’

Match details

Mohun Bagan got a corner in 13 minutes of the first half. Roy Krishna put his hand while clearing the corner kick of Petras. The referee awarded the penalty. Petras put Mohun Bagan ahead with a penalty goal.

Although Bengaluru FC started to play frantically after scoring goals. Bengaluru kept 60 percent of the ball. It also gets its results. The referee gave 3 minutes of injury time in the first half. A few seconds left before the end of three minutes. While clearing the ball, Subhashis Bose fouled Roy Krishna in his own box. When the referee gave a penalty, not Krishna, Sunil Chhetri went to take the shot. He scored with a cool head.

The second half is the opposite. At the end of the 78th minute, Roy Krishna scored a stunning goal by jumping to zero from Suresh Singh’s corner kick. Who is again Mohun Bagan ex. However, Krishna did not celebrate by scoring against his old team. There was still drama left. 6 minutes before the final whistle, Pablo Perez fouled the newly-minted Kian Nasiri. Petrats scored himself and his team’s second goal from the penalty.

Read more: RCB took special initiative to honor de Villiers, Gayle

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *